Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I use a radar detector regularly, mounted near the bower center of the windshield. This makes normal use of a sunshade impossible. In my last car, I'd use it upside down, so the cutout for the rearview mirror was at the bottom, clearing the detector. Doesn't fit that way in the Prius, though.

So I thought about mounting the detector up high, right behind the mirror, so normal use of the sunshade might work, but of course the cord gets in the way.

So could I tap into the Homelink +-12V wires (if it has such wires) with a connector so the detector (and therefore the sunshade) could work wout a cord hanging down to the underside of the dash?

I'll have to check the current draw of course. But is there +-12V available in those Homelink wires?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Sorry to get a bit off topic, but as a cop I have to comment on this. Radar detectors are a waste of money. Modern police radar technology is far more advanced than it was even five years ago. Almost everyone I ticket has one, and most report they never went off. Those who actually had theirs go off only found it was advance warning they were about to be pulled over. I bring this up because I certainly wouldn't spend a bunch of money on one.

Also, if your detector has LIDAR (Laser) capability, mounting it high won't help you at all because we aim for you're license plates. The laser beam is pretty small, meaning it won't set off your detector at all unless it's mounted pretty close to the dash. That's why I say they're not worth the cash.

Dont get me wrong though. I do like that people have them because when I don't have time to stop speeders, I turn on my radar so all the people with radar detectors will slow down. I also like them because once I zap a speeder, if their detector goes off, they usually slow down, making it easier for me to catch them. :D

·
Registered
2,285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·