Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been considering buying a Prius for about 8 months now and just got on a waiting list for a 2005. One question someone asked me has been on my mind:
What will happen with all the old Prius batteries when they die? I don't expect them to die for many, many years, but when they do, will it be an environmental fiasco?
Has anyone heard anything from Toyota about that?

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
They're supposed to be recyclable, but whether or not there's an actual end-of-life disposal/recycling mechanisim in place, I do not know.

·
Premium Member
2,820 Posts
12v accessory battery is lead-acid, like in any other car. Recycle like you would any other car's battery (usually a trade-in when you buy a new 12v battery).

hybrid traction battery is NiMH (nickel metal hydride), so no heavy metals in there, so no toxicity problems. The ERG states to contact your nearest Toyota dealer for recycling, or to call the Toyota USA or Canada help lines.

·
Registered
5 Posts