Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I searched the forum for the word "waypoint" and came up empty. Sorry if this has already been broached...

I have been using my Garmin V unit ever since they came out (7 years?) and have literally hundreds of waypoints stored on it. Does anyone know if there's a way to transfer from the Garmin protocol to whatever it is on the Prius Nav? Does anyone know who the mfg is for the Nav system?

There's GOT to be a way! (He says with panic in his touchscreen-tired fingers.)

Thanks in advance.

David

·
Registered
2,285 Posts
I'm not aware of any data path to the Nav other than direct screen entry. I believe the Bluetooth data path is for telephone information only.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Jeez, that was fast. 4 minutes with an answer!

I was thinking about the CD/DVD. That's how new data is input every October (so I'm told) if you shell out $200 for the newest data from "Toyota." The trick would be to find the right protocol including data formatting. The person I spoke with at Toyota said they don't let people know who the GPS software was built by.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Each system has its own name. Garmin calls the points one wants it to remember, destinations or points along a route, waypoints. Anyway, I've got about 425 of those things that I would like to transfer.

BUT, I just read in the manual that this great, expensive $2,000 option allows a whopping 160 of them. Not too impressive. If they ask me, I'll vote for an upgrade on that. And a way to talk to other devices.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Date of Last Update

lindavid said:
That's how new data is input every October (so I'm told) if you shell out $200 for the newest data from "Toyota."