Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a fleet manager for a car-sharing organization. We've got fourteen 2005 Priuses. I've twice experienced this issue: The car seems frozen--light on Power button illuminated, cannot pull key from slot, have difficulty getting the car to power down. Jump start is necessary to get it started. Then, when it's READY, the touch screen displays a warning message. Advises to proceed immediately to a level area and set the parking brake...???. Does anyone know what our customers might be doing to get the car into this mode? Or can you shed any light on the meaning of the warning message?

thanks
Kurt

·
Premium Member
2,815 Posts
the "frozen" thing is sometimes seen if the power button is pressed repeatedly, or not pressed hard enough... Be sure to hit the P (park) button first, as that sometimes helps to clear it.

(You may also have inavertently gone into IG-ON or ACC mode - is READY on the display when frozen? Be sure to apply the brake pedal firmly when pressing Power.)

There used to be a Knowledge Base article on this over on priuschat.com , but it appears that the KB is down/gone. :(

I'm guessing that your second comment on parking is more likely:

"CAUTION: Shift the position into range [P] when parking. The
batteries will not charge if the transmission is in neutral [N]."

This message on the display is shown in the Owner's Manual, but is often missed... US 2004, Section 1- 2 "Features on New Toyota Vehicle," Toyota Hybrid System, Precautions for use, page 14, and briefly mentioned again on page 121 under the description of messages shown when the Master Warning Light is on.

However, the manual does not specifically state that the message comes on if you open the driver's door and the car is not in Park...

What the owner's manual does say:
<quote>