Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am expecting my first prius any day now. :D (seaside pearl, package #1) I am extremely excited!! My sister has one and I loved it, so I talked my husband into getting one. I have some questions though that maybe someone can help me with...Living in Minnesota, it gets pretty darned cold. How is the performance in the -20 to +20 range and is there any particular care I need to take when it is that cold? engine block warmer or anything like that? Also, how is it on ice or snow--I've heard mixed things. Also, I have never used online forums before, so be kind if i do something wrong. :wink:

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
You might need to change the prius's shoes to ones appropriate for the weather, but the car otherwise has excellent torque. As with any vehicle, it's wheel slippage that hinders travel.

Starting the car (more accurately, turning it on) is not a problem in any weather. The ICE is started when needed using a 10KW motor, spinning the ICE at almost 1000RPM before feeding fuel and spark. Even before that happens, hot coolant stored in a thermos bottle is pumped into the ICE.

A block heater may shorten the warmup period, thus making the car more efficient and helping to provide cabin heat quicker but is otherwise not needed.

·
Registered
2,348 Posts
georgia said:
I am expecting my first prius any day now. :D (seaside pearl, package #1) I am extremely excited!! My sister has one and I loved it, so I talked my husband into getting one. I have some questions though that maybe someone can help me with....Living in Minnesota, it gets pretty darned cold. How is the performance in the -20 to +20 range and is there any particular care I need to take when it is that cold? engine block warmer or anything like that? Also, how is it on ice or snow--I've heard mixed things. Also, I have never used online forums before, so be kind if i do something wrong. :wink: