Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently tried very hard to look at all the existing American autos to see if there were any I'd overlooked. I studied the Consumer Reports reviews, road tests, and owner based reliability ratings. The following are my personal conclusions.

Comparison criteria:

Average or preferably above average gas mileage sedan, hatchback, or other reasonable commuter vehicle of street parkable size. (Have garage but still drive to places without parking lots) Under $30K. Reliability and warranty important. Technical innovation and build quality important. Exterior/interior styling, ride comfort somewhat important. Enough power for freeway driving/merging. AWD would be great, but it usually reduces mileage and seldom is offered in the vehicle class I'm interested in, except for Subaru and some Audi.

I looked at about 15 "American brand" vehicles for comparison. I found they consistently scored lower for reliability, had reduced build quality and drive comfort, reduced technology and features for comparably priced foreign makes. A couple contenders to mention are the Ford Focus and Chevy Malibu.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the Focus had quite good handling, and might be a good competitor with the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla in that range to buy American if willing to take a slight reliability hit. It certainly doesn't have reliability equal to similar Japanese offerings like Corolla and Civic. However, I also discovered the Focus engine is made by Mitsubishi. In addition, the styling is ok but not great IMO. The Focus looks a bit toylike, sort of square and boring looking, being styled but not much so it fells sort of half-way to me. A friend recently bought a Focus hatchback and is generally pleased with it.