Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
spouse will not listen to reason. :roll:

Spouse thinks the sprayed on wax at the quicky car wash is comparable to the rub/buff on stuff for protection, finish longevity etc.

I, on the other hand, am certain the better liquid waxes are superior to the quicky wash wax. 8) There's an 05 Salsa's finish at stake.

What's the truth. Click and Clack will not take my calls anymore. :wink:

G

·
Well, you know what we're going to say, don't you? :D Personally, I think the spray-on stuff is pretty worthless, but I'm no expert. Why not seek your answer on one of the many boards devoted to detailing autos, where a lot of people who really know their stuff can give you more definitive information? I know there are quite a few of them, but here's one for starters: http://www.detailcity.com

Joe

·
Registered
457 Posts
"Spouse thinks the sprayed on wax at the quicky car wash is comparable to the rub/buff on stuff for protection, finish longevity etc.
I, on the other hand, am certain the better liquid waxes are superior to the quicky wash wax. There's an 05 Salsa's finish at stake.
What's the truth."

The "spray on" wax used by car washes is 90% useless. Especially if your car is not garaged. Like your skin, direct sunshine is the most damaging element to a painted surface. Since there is no way to duplicate the effects of TIME & CLIMATE on your car's finish..(except in a lab) it's difficult to provide you (or your wife) with a conclusive answer.
Take a car with a dull (oxidized) finish and run it through a spray wax wash. Will it come out all shiney and shedding (beading) water..? Not likely.
It's just another case of, "You get what you pay for." Hand waxing a car is a labor of love. If you don't have the time or inclination.. pay someone to do it.

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
Hmm, it brings up the age old question... Would you rather be right or happy?

·
Registered
457 Posts