Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I debated for a few hours about whether to post this. I didn't want to be on the receiving end of flames defending SUV owners. So here's my disclaimer: This is about the mentality of an individual person who happens to own an SUV and his view of the world in general and hybrids in particular.

So I dropped my son at the dentist and went to park. The only available spot was rather tight, between a Mercedes SUV behind and some other SUV in front. I managed to get in the space, but in inching backwards my rear bumper kissed the front of the Mercedes. Really, I was going maybe half a mile/hour at most. Just barely touched it, no marks at all on either car. So I got out of the car and out of nowhere this guy and a woman appeared, and he started telling me I crashed into the front of his car. Now, you have to understand that I am not good at confrontation or assertiveness in general. Some inane conversation took place with me trying to dispel his notion that I "crashed into" his car. Then:
"This is a $50,000 car!" he said.
"Oh, I'm so impressed," I said, rolling my eyes and walking away.
"But then you're saving the environment," dripping with sarcasm.
What I should have said was "You could slow global warming if you'd shut your mouth." What I did unfortunately resort to, since I don't think on my feet that well: "F*** off." And I walked into the building. Of course, I was shaking when I got inside. That's probably the 2nd time in my life I've said that to someone's face.

On this board and particularly on Yahoo, which I don't read much anymore, there are just tons of stories of obnoxious drivers who seem to resent hybrids. There's a recent thread here about Wall Street Journal letters bashing Prii. It's about world views and self images all around. Just wanted to get this off my chest. Thanks for listening.

Susan

·
Registered
269 Posts