Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I've got two things going on that maybe you folks can help me with.

Thing one, I'm considering calling my dealership service manager. My car is now shuttering when the ICE turns off. I'm certain it didn't do this before, but now it feels like a stalling car when I stop. As per the directions in the manual, I used the highest possible octane gasoline when I filled up. Should I call the dealership? Is this normal?

Thing two, this is basic stuff about the trip meter. I zero it when I fill up to track my usage per tank. Well, I'd like the car to keep a running total count instead of an average mpg per tank. Does anyone know if the average comes from one or the other trip number?

Thanks a million, folks. I tried searching the forums for something already existing on these topics but wasn't finding anything.

--Moon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,348 Posts
Moon said:
Okay, I've got two things going on that maybe you folks can help me with.

Thing one, I'm considering calling my dealership service manager. My car is now shuttering when the ICE turns off. I'm certain it didn't do this before, but now it feels like a stalling car when I stop. As per the directions in the manual, I used the highest possible octane gasoline when I filled up. Should I call the dealership? Is this normal?

Thing two, this is basic stuff about the trip meter. I zero it when I fill up to track my usage per tank. Well, I'd like the car to keep a running total count instead of an average mpg per tank. Does anyone know if the average comes from one or the other trip number?

Thanks a million, folks. I tried searching the forums for something already existing on these topics but wasn't finding anything.

--Moon
The shudder is normal. It will happen most when the car is cold. We all worried about it, but have learned to ignore it. Don't worry at all. The indicated MPG will automatically reset whenever you fill the tank. There is nothing you can do about it and it is not connected to the trip counter on the odmeter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,028 Posts
Shuddering is normal and has nothing to do with octane. Use the recommended octane gas. Anything higher is at best a waste of money.

The displayed MPG (and, next to it, the distance travelled) is for the current tank of gas. It is not possible to change how it works (you can't make it display a lifetime MPG, or the MPG using some other distance).

These topics have been discussed several times both here and in http://www.priuschat.com . Try searching using Google.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks folks. Sorry for re-posting an old hat. I must not have tried enough keywords... :oops:

--Moon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
121 Posts
My car has two trip meters.

I've got an odometer and two trip meters, trip A and trip B.

I'd zero Trip A and leave it for your running total, then zero Trip B every time you fill up. That will give you some idea of what you're doing. You can keep a log from the info screen on the mpg or something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
669 Posts
Um, my MPG on the consumption screen has a "reset" button (well touch place). I reset when I fill the tank. Is this only on the 05 or only with some option packages? I haven't tried resetting it between fills because I'm using it to track my per tank mileage, but I had the impression it would keep averaging indefinitely if I did not reset it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
370 Posts
Astrowoman said:
Um, my MPG on the consumption screen has a "reset" button (well touch place). I reset when I fill the tank. Is this only on the 05 or only with some option packages? I haven't tried resetting it between fills because I'm using it to track my per tank mileage, but I had the impression it would keep averaging indefinitely if I did not reset it.
No, it resets by itself after you fill up. You don't have to reset it manually. So, it's not a running total of anything more than the present tank.

I'm not crazy about the functionality - I'd rather have the lifetime stats. Right after Toyota adds the coal-burning furnace for the engine block, I'll start harping about this.

DGStan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Moon said:
As per the directions in the manual, I used the highest possible octane gasoline when I filled up.
--Moon
I must have missed this. I thought we were supposed to use 87 octane.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hi there,

I've had my 2005 for 3 weeks now. I've filled up 3 times - the last 2 times the MPG gauge did not re-set itself. I had to reset it by pushing the button on the display. Each time I filled up with over 7 gallons. The manual states that the gauge automatically re-sets with fill ups of over 2 gallons or so.
Anyone else experience this?
Regards,
Kevin
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
888 Posts
The fuel economy in the MFD only resets after the tank has been filled, all the bars on the fuel meter on the dash are done updating and you begin rolling away from the pump. The key is that you begin to roll away from the pump. Also, if you are topping off the tank and only putting in a very small amount of fuel, the vehicle may not sense the fill up and would not adjust the fuel gauge or reset the MFD. Trips A and B on the dash do not reset on their own.

Also, Moon, unless you do not live in the U.S. and have an alternate version of the manual if you take another look at the manual it specifically states that 87 octane is sufficient (translate that down to 85 octane in high altitude areas, such as Denver). I do not have my manual handy, or else I would quote the page as a reference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
370 Posts
kevin54 said:
Hi there,

I've had my 2005 for 3 weeks now. I've filled up 3 times - the last 2 times the MPG gauge did not re-set itself. I had to reset it by pushing the button on the display. Each time I filled up with over 7 gallons. The manual states that the gauge automatically re-sets with fill ups of over 2 gallons or so.
Anyone else experience this?
Regards,
Kevin
How long are you waiting before you reset it manually? It can take a moment or so after you start the car after the fillup. Mine resets itself by the time I've pulled out of the gas station and started heading down the road.

DGStan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,028 Posts
richard schumacher said:
The displayed MPG (and, next to it, the distance travelled) is for the current tank of gas. It is not possible to change how it works (you can't make it display a lifetime MPG, or the MPG using some other distance).
D'ohh!! Except, as Astrowoman pointed out, the MPG distance meter can be reset manually at any time, so one can use it to get trip fuel economy, at least for trips during which you buy no more than two gallons of gas at a time (which would cause it to reset automatically).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I forget who first mentioned this.

1) At station power down car.

2) WITHOUT your foot on the brake, hit the power button twice. Accessory ON position - NOT in Ready Mode.

3) Fill up the car. (Fuel guage will update AS you fill up).

4) Holding down the brake pedal, hit the power button to get into READY mode.

5) MFD will reset immediately as soon as you start to move.
*** So write down any numbers you want to keep from the display first


Otherwise, a combination of the car moving and the fuel guage registering as FULL is needed to reset the display. This could take several seconds after you drive away to happen.

- Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
669 Posts
So... this car has a "Park" button that operates automatically if you forget to hit it when you park, lights that have an off switch but turn off if you forget and a "reset" button that you never need to use if want a tank average and forget to push it...

I suspect something involving white mice and the end of the world.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
I heard a rumor that in the 2008 Prius, it will still have a steering wheel, but you won't really need to use it. Also, the voice recognition will be redundant as Lady Nav will be able to read your mind.

Just rumors so far. But the source is reliable. Sort of.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,661 Posts
exhuman said:
...Also, the voice recognition will be redundant as Lady Nav will be able to read your mind...
Well, since she doesn't listen to or recognize what I say, I'm not optimistic that her reading my thoughts will work any better.

Me thinking: I'm hungry
NAV Lady: No you aren't.
Me thinking: I'd like a burger, or a grilled chicken salad. Mmm.
NAV Lady: BING! POI ::::showing gyms within 10 mile radius::::
Me thinking: Maybe some pizza. I wonder if there's anything around here.
NAV Lady: BING! POI ::::emergency medical facilities::::
Me thinking: Or chinese?
NAV Lady: BING :::NAV OFF:::: :::::VEHICLE OFF:::::

Me: Walking home.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,815 Posts
Astrowoman said:
Um, my MPG on the consumption screen has a "reset" button (well touch place). I reset when I fill the tank. Is this only on the 05 or only with some option packages? I haven't tried resetting it between fills because I'm using it to track my per tank mileage, but I had the impression it would keep averaging indefinitely if I did not reset it.
On the 2001-2003 Classic Prius, the Consumption Screen odometer/MPG would only reset if you pressed the "Reset" button, or if you had the 12v battery disconnected for a long enough time. (I had my 2001's 12v disconnected for about an hour during a cruise control installation, and it didn't reset). My dealership hit reset on me once around 5000 miles, and it hasn't been reset since, so I have some 30,000 miles (almost lifetime) on the MPG indicator. (Actual numbers are in my car, just going by memory as I'm too lazy right now to get my book..)

On the 2004+ Prius, the Consumption Screen odometer will automatically reset after you fill up, usually within a mile or so of leaving the station (if not while you're in the station). There are a few instances where it will not automatically reset (like you put in less than 3 gallons), though, so probably best to hit the reset button.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,815 Posts
kidtwist said:
Moon said:
As per the directions in the manual, I used the highest possible octane gasoline when I filled up.
--Moon
I must have missed this. I thought we were supposed to use 87 octane.
Yes, the owner's manual says to use 87 octane ((R+M)/2).

Using higher octane in the Prius is known to cause "check engine" lights associated with engine misfire codes, because of the timing of the Atkinson cycle engine. It'll also give you lower MPG.

I also highly suggest reading:
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/autos/octane.htm
"The Low-Down on High Octane Gasoline"
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top