Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who thinks solar panels integrated into the roof and hood are a good idea and is this something we might see in the future modles of the hybrids? I'm a newbie here and hope this isn't too dunb a question. Just put a $500 deposit on a 2006 silver, package C( if that's what will be called/offered in 2006) and I'm very excited to get behind the wheel!

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
It's a good idea. The Audi A8L has a solar panel moonroof that allows the A/C and accessories to run while parked.

Edit: hehe. It's called the Navigation Package in 2005. Btw, keep us updated on Canadian details eh?

·
Registered
928 Posts
A more practical use for solar panels would be to put them on a platform over the parking lots around office buildings and malls. This would be very convenient for those who park there because the shade would keep the cars under them cooler in the summer, and they would be protected from rain as they walk to/from their cars.

Depending on prevailing conditions and power costs, these could pay back their installation costs in 10 to 20 years. But that's too long for a car and you don't have the convenient grid to feed the power into. Adding batteries to hold the power tends to push the payback cost beyond the life of the panels. Plus it's very hard to get curved solar panel material.

Still, batteries improve every year, and we could get a solar panel materials breakthrough.

·
Registered
928 Posts
Tideland Prius said:
It's a good idea. The Audi A8L has a solar panel moonroof that allows the A/C and accessories to run while parked. . .
Just a fan, not the A/C compressor.

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
RSnyder said: