Toyota Prius Forum banner

Would you buy this solar panel addition to the Prius?

• Absolutely

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Absolutely - I'd even pay more than $1500 for it

• Yes - only if the price is lower (please describe in a post)

• No (please explain why in a post)

• Other (please explain in a post)

1 - 20 of 26 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm currently a student in a business class doing a project on new business ideas. Our idea is as follows...

I'd like to know how many of Prius owners would be interested in buying an aftermarket solar panel package to increase mileage while using green energy. The panels would be placed on the roof. These panels will have the same curvature as the roof and the structural rigidity will not be affected. It will simply be something you can add to the top of the Prius roof. With these solar panels, a fully charged battery (takes approx. 6-8 hrs - like parking your car outside during the workday) would provide enough energy for you to travel 30-40 miles free. So basically your ride to/from home would be free each day. These panels would be an "aftermarket" option. You would purchase the solar panel package and have it installed on the roof. We estimate the cost to be $1000-1500 for the package.

This package would be easily retrofitted on current Priuses.

This is a very rough idea. Please vote in the poll. Let me know if any additional poll options are needed. Please post what you think about this idea as well. Any constructive criticism is welcome. Thanks!!

·
Registered
173 Posts
I think you'd need to get 1000 watts out of about 2 square meters, which is between 2 and 3 times the efficiency of currently available solar panels. You'd also have to have a plug-in prius to be able to accept that much charge.

·
Registered
7,161 Posts