Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, all. I'm a 4-month Prius newbie with a Ubiquitous Silver 2005/Package #6 model with Nav, JBL, XM radio, etc. Having gotten a lot of help from the discussions in this forum, I've learned about many of the Prius mysteries - er, features - but am still curious about those high-tech knobs on that high-tech radio.

Yes, I've found that they can in fact control tuning and volume. But why, pray tell, do they have that detent position? Maybe it's to discourage unexpected manipulation by driver, kids, pets, passengers or spouse? Or something actually useful? I've found little reference to them in the Owner's Manual, or even here (although admittedly haven't gone through all 49,300+ posts).

I’m still in the learning phase of Priusness, and it’s a rare week when I don’t learn something interesting and/or useful about this remarkable machine. After four months of not knowing about those knobs, I really haven’t lost a lot of sleep over the matter, but... :roll:

Anyone?

·
Registered
457 Posts
but am still curious about those high-tech knobs on that high-tech radio.*****************************************************
Good question Jimmy. Whatever rationale you come up with for the wonderful disappearing volume knob could be become the official site response. Maybe it's a safety item to keep junior from hurting his head..?
Whatever...It no doubt seemed like a good idea at the time. ~JD~

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
I have seen this type of button on many other cars as well. I think it is just to have a cleaner look. It kind of makes sense if you typically use the steering wheel mounted controls instead of the knobs. In that case, you rarely, if ever, need to use the knobs so you may as well keep them out of the way.

·
Registered
344 Posts
it's so you don't blast the stereo unexpectedly and damage your hearing when you're cleaning off the face of the stereo...