Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to Prius shopping. About all I know is that I want one.

Many months ago I put my name on the Prius list at a dealership. When I checked back with them recently, I was told the sales person my name "belonged to" had left the dealer's employ and my information had thus been lost forever. Basically I was told I had to start over.

This unhappy experience brings me to the internet, as a friend has just told me about PriusOnline.com. I would appreciate any help I can get with the following questions:

1. What is the best way to buy a Prius without having to wait for months on a list? My friend located a dealer with the car he wanted on this site, bought the car sight unseen, flew across country to the dealership and drove the car home. Is that what you recommend...or are there better ways?

2. If (1) above is a good way to locate and buy a Prius, what dealers do you recommend doing business with?

3. What "package" do you recommend? I know this may be a matter of taste or preference, but I wonder if there are advisable tactics to take with some of the options. I've been told, for example, that if you want a navigation system it is best to buy it separately from the car and have it installed after the fact. (A better GPS system for a lot less money, I'm told.)

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
133 Posts

Not knowing where you live...

The waiting list is about over and some dealers have them sitting on their lots. From the posts it seems you should be driving your new Prius within a few weeks.

My neighbor picked up his Prius within 2 weeks and paid $1000.00 under msrp (Southern California).

As far as which one? I bought mine with all the bells and whistles. I keep my cars for a long time and love high tech.

Enjoy!!

·
Registered
370 Posts
Quanah,