Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have now owned a Prius for two months. In many ways it compares very favourably with my previous vehicles which were either Jaguar or Mercedes but it doesn't do 60 miles to the imperial gallon or even 50. It does about 43 MPG. However I like it and it is a great fun car in days when most of the fun has gone out of motoring. As an engineer I would love to see a diagram of the power train. How is the engine connected to the electric motor and how does it connect and disconnect? does the transmission have a torque converter? Is the electric motor connected directly to the wheels. Where could I get this kind of deep technical information. Oh and I think they have done a great job on the styling but the alloy wheel covers are a bit strange and the lack of a coolant temperature guage is a nuisance here in Scotland where it is cold most of the time and you only switch the heater on when you can see that the coolant is at the correct temperature and why don't the doors lock automatically like they do in other quality cars. My Prius is a bit like my wife. She is not perfect but I love her anyway. Can anyone send me a power train diagram? I would be most grateful.
Kind regards from Bonnie Scotland.
Rennie Turnbull

·
Registered
515 Posts
Rennie Turnbull said:
How is the engine connected to the electric motor and how does it connect and disconnect?

Can anyone send me a power train diagram?
By amazing cosmic coincidence, this morning I just finished creating an illustrated 5-page educational document to answer those very questions...

http://john1701a.com/prius/prius-psd_details.htm

It was written for a non-technical audience though. As an engineer, you'll obviously crave more. These may help with that...

http://john1701a.com/prius/prius-energy.htm

http://john1701a.com/prius/hybrid-type_full.htm

http://john1701a.com/prius/hybrid-type_full_details.htm