Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been trolling for awhile here, but decided to reveal myself to get a straight answer on this.

I have been driving a 93 toyota p/u, 4WD for the last several years. I live at 8000 feet in COlorado and drive about 30 miles one way a day to go to work. My p/u gets, if I am lucky, 20 mpg. I really want an 06 prius w/ VSC, but I am hesitant b/c it's not AWD or 4WD, and it snows all the time here.

My p/u does OK in the snow, but it's squirelly when not in 4WD. I have not had a 2WD since I moved here. I fear running a new prius into the ditch or getting stuck in deep snow. Does anyone here simliarly situated and have any experience with the prius in the snow?

·
Registered
2,243 Posts
Why not look at the Toyota Highlander hybrid? It has AWD and will get better mileage than your pickup, but not as good as the Prius.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Highlander is too rich for my blood. ALthough i haven't had a 2WD in a while, I have been passed by them when my p/u ended up in the ditch (some would say this was due to operator error). I am just wondering if the prius will do as good or better than most front wheel drive vehiccles with the VSC

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
hyperion said:
If you wouldn't consider a Camry or Honda Accord because of the conditions, don't even think of a Prius. The Highlander would be good for 30 mpg but at a cost close to forty thousand dollars. Check out a Suburu if you want a new car, if you want AWD, and economy also.
Hyperion, not even close to $40k, I have one at $36.313 with:
1Running Board, 2Exhaust Tip, 3Tow Hitch,and 4Floor mats. If you take all (4)Options out will cost $34.995 Destination included but excluding the Tax
and fees that ever differs by States. This is a 4wd i ( Intelligence )
So for a deep snow region residents a $35K 4wd i HH will do the job !