Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize if this seems like a newbie question as I am a newbie :)

My '05 Prius is only about a month old and I am already running into a few problems including, but not limited to getting low MPG ratings, strange unexplained noises coming from behind the dashboard but no warning lights are on, and one thing that bugs me the most, the power button light...

I didn't really start to notice the power button light until I started having more problems with my Prius so I don't remember what color it used to be but now everytime I press it to turn on my car, the power button light is orange. Now is this normal? To my understanding, if everything is OK then shouldn't the light be green?

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Odd. Well, if you're in ACC mode, it'll be green. If you're in IG-ON mode it'll be orange and if you're in READY mode (i.e. the car is on), the green light should go out.

G

·
0 Posts
The car has to be broken in. You haven't provided enough information for anyone here to give a diagnosis.

How many miles do you take per trip?
What speed are you traveling on the higway?
How many miles are on the car?
What are your tire pressures?
Have you checked the fill level of the oil?

Sounds in the dash are another story. If it is a rattle, go see the dealer and perhaps they can locate it. In my car the only thing that shakes is the center speaker. Anyone know a fix?

·
Registered
919 Posts
By strange noises do you mean a slight buzzing or whirring noise? That's normal. The orange power color indicates you're in some accessory mode as opposed to a driving mode. Low mileage means what? My first tank was 39mpg. As to the power button, it'll take a few weeks to feel natural. Starting and stopping the Prius were the two areas of this new vehicle I needed the most time to adjust to. It took me a month or so. Sounds pretty normal so far, unless those sounds aren't buzzes, relax.

·