Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone. OK...I'm a newbie to this forum. Just got what I know will be my most favorite car of all time....2005 Pri, Package 3. I've been lurking this BB for the past week and it's time I became active...

Question on the Parking Brake. During my 25 years of driving, I can remember two occasions where I actually had to use my parking brake to slow the vehicle down because my service brakes were not working. I've had cars with "standard" shifts in the past, so the parking brake was a handle between the two front seats. I was able to steadily apply pressure to the handle without locking the brakes...and come to a safe stop.

I'm not comfortable with the Pri parking brake on the floor with the "push on-push off" motion. Is there another mechanical release for this foot brake that could be used in an emergency of you wanted to slow down and stop the car with the parking brake...instead of just stepping down on it and locking the wheels?

Thanks a bunch!
JeffnDallas

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Press lightly but not pass the threshold where it'd lock into place. You can try it when you're starting on an uphill. Just press lightly and see if it holds the car.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
Tideland Prius said:
Press lightly but not pass the threshold where it'd lock into place. You can try it when you're starting on an uphill. Just press lightly and see if it holds the car.
Very Dangerous ! There is no "Modulation Feel" when depressing the parking brake pedal so might push it a little too much and the ratchet mechanism will lock the parking brake pedal. I do not recommend it !

·
Registered
1,397 Posts