Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my new prius today! My wife drove the car tonight, and now, the light in the dashboard of a car with a key in it keeps blinking (indicator for the smart function I believe). I don't remember seeing it blink earlier.

How do I get it to shut off? How did my wife get it to start blinking in the first place? I really appreciate anyone's advice. Thanks.

·
Registered
37 Posts
When you get in "range" of the car, the red light blinks because it is getting ready to let you in!

If you watch it from behind the car and take steps back away from the car, you will see it stop blinking.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi! New Prius owner here (bought today).

That light you are referring to is theft deterrent in nature. It indicates the vehicle immobilizer is in place.

·
Registered
2,348 Posts
If you time your own blinking to the blinking key, it will appear to be on steady. Trust me. I'm a professional. :wink:

·
Registered
4,873 Posts
I'm lazy and the index "sucks" To save me fifteen minutes can you post the page in the 2004 manual. Mine blinks continuously when I leave car with my smart key whether the doors are locked or not. (no alarm)(and I've already spent my allored fifteen minutes hunting tonight) I only ask, as when I got home from the dealer with my new car I noticed the light, couldn't find anything about it in the manual, called my dealer and he thought it was my alarm system armed indication until I mentioned I had no system. He then told me to bring the car back so they could take a look at it. I called abother dealers service manager and he told me it was an indication of "smart key" standing by.
I'll bet there would be quite an aftermarket demand for an intelligently written manual!

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
No, not smartkey, immobilizer, as mrv said.