Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all...

i am new to the prius and to this site. i picked up my new baby on wednesday and look forward to any opportunity to drive it. i am a recovering gas miser...last 2 vehicles were suv's. my last car was a vw touareg, a whopping 16 miles to the gallon...nice. well, i am looking forward to my coming driving experiences and having a place to answer my questions. :D

·
Premium Member
640 Posts
Welcome to our community and congrats on such a positive change in your mode of transportation (I think you meant you're a recovering gas guzzler)! And I'm envious of your Barcelona, my fave color.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
oops...yes, i was a guzzler, but a miser at heart...lol. i wanted the magnetic gray, but out of 4 dealerships only one had any in stock, they had 2. i went to test drive that night and the blue one had been sold. the only new one left was red and fully loaded...can't beat that...my friends think i am crazy, as i told them i would never drive a car again. i had an xterra for 4 years and the touareg for 3. it is like riding in a roller skate...but not as smelly... :lol:

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
i notice you are from vermont (wayneswhirld). how does your prius handle in rain, ice, snow? i am used to an almost 6000 lb vehicle and an nervous about winter weather.

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
The car itself handles well in bad weather conditions, especially with VSC, which since you say yours is fully loaded, you have.

You might want to change the tires to ones more suitable for winter weather when the season comes. The traction control can be sensitive and appear to make you powerless. In reality, it does stop the wheels if it spins, but will try again in about a second. Driver's instincts are to let go of the gas. Better to back off a bit, but not let go.