Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
This is my first time posting here. I've been reading the threads for a few days now, and only just registered to post this, my first bunch of questions.

I've been thinking about getting a hybrid since they first emerged on the market. I drove the first Prius that came out and I admit, I didn't love it, but then, I couldn't afford it at the time anyway. Now I can afford it and am ready to invest in a contribution to our green future!

I test drove a 2005 Prius, a 2005 Accord Hybrid, and a 2003 Civic Hybrid today. Of all of the cars I drove, I liked the Prius the best. I expected the Civic to be a lot more fun to drive, but it seems they've made some significant changes since the 2000 (gas) version I currently drive, changes that, at least in the hybrid, not only make the car feel to me a little difficult to drive in comparison, but also changes that would seriously hamper my comfort and convenience (lack of fold-down seats in the back due to the location of the battery? Are you kidding me?). So, after today, I'm pretty clear that I want the Prius. I like the way it drives and it actually feels a lot more roomy than I expected it to. And I like the efficiency better than the Civic. The only thing is, there are some things that concern me.

First, the fabric seems like it would get dirty really fast. Does it? Is it durable? Is it easy to clean?

Second, when making the transition from a regular car to a Prius, do you get distracted by the monitor screen?

Third, as someone who recently vowed never to purchase another new vehicle, due to the high depreciation that occurs when you drive off the lot, I've found the posts about the cost of new vs. used very interesting. I realize finding a used 2004 or newer Prius in a color I can stand may be virtually impossible, but is it also true that I may actually save money by buying a new car instead of used with the Prius?