Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now I know that my boat GPS/Plotter keeps a record of time, speed, and track back about 100 hours of operation more or less depending on the number of waypoints I have stored, and preferred routes saved (available memory space).

The planes I fly for a living do all that and much more in a crash-proof recorder, but what I am taking about would be in the non-volitile memory of the GPS system itself.

Is there any of that going on in the #9 Nav System on my Prius? And who could get to it? Could the data there be recovered after an accident/crash and be used for or against me?

Michael,
(busy selling my Porsches and Mercedes after driving my Prius for a couple of weeks.)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Big Brother

That's silly. The GPS in the airplanes you fly do not save information for downloading. If that were the case, the manufacturers would be bragging about it and the gummint would be using it in accident investigations right now.

·
Registered
32 Posts
There are no current plans, that I know of, to capture large amounts of GPS data.

I have heard about two initiatives that might interest you.

* In the US, there are requests to create auto versions of the airplane "black box" -- not to capture your constant whereabouts, but to capture real-time info at the moment of crash (acceleration, position of controls, speed) much as is done in airplanes. I forget whether it's the gummint, insurance companies, or lawyers who wanted this.

* In the UK, the gummint does want to require the installation of live, continuous-feed GPS units to allow for usage-sensitive tolls. All motorways would become toll roads, and you'd get a bill from the Queen each month.

I don't want to start a fight with this information, but it's what I know...

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Re: Big Brother

bobmrg said: