Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why would the ICE be running at all when the battery is totally charged to point of being green after a long descent and I am continuing down a further gentle slope at about 20-30 mph? This just started this week with the warmer weather. Before, the ICE did not come on. I am driving a new Prius that I purchased at the beginning of March so I am still learning about the vehicle. Is the battery so fully charged that the ICE has to come on to cool it or something? Nothing else is on to draw current from the battery.

·
Registered
669 Posts
Aha, I know the answer to this one! If the battery is in danger of overcharging, the ICE will come on to bleed voltage out of the system. Should only happen if the battery is totally green and you are still regen braking.

However, it does seem there ought to be a way of simply not continuing to charge, oughtn't there?

·
Registered
928 Posts
Astrowoman said:
Aha, I know the answer to this one! If the battery is in danger of overcharging, the ICE will come on to bleed voltage out of the system. Should only happen if the battery is totally green and you are still regen braking.

However, it does seem there ought to be a way of simply not continuing to charge, oughtn't there?
Well, there are at least two other ways, but both have drawbacks.

1. Use the hydraulic brakes to slow the car. Since it's "brake-by-wire", this can be done even though the driver does not press the brake pedal. But it adds additional complication to a life critical system and engineers hate to do that.

2. Discontinue simulated engine braking. Automotive engineers try to avoid unexpected changes in vehicle behavior as a confused driver can be a dangerous driver.