Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI, I am fairly new to this thing. I have a #6 in Blue and have logged about 1500 miles. Yesterday I drove for the first time in the Mountains and on a short trip (14 miles) up a canyon, I ran the Hybrid battery all the way down to a single bar. I stopped and allowed the engine to recharge for about 5 minutes. I took off again and promptly ran the battery down again.

Is there a way to drive Prius in the mountains without need for stopping every 10 miles?

Thanks

·
Registered
35 Posts
Re: Hybrid Battery Run Down to Zero in Mountain Driving - Av

pelly said:
HI, I am fairly new to this thing. I have a #6 in Blue and have logged about 1500 miles. Yesterday I drove for the first time in the Mountains and on a short trip (14 miles) up a canyon, I ran the Hybrid battery all the way down to a single bar. I stopped and allowed the engine to recharge for about 5 minutes. I took off again and promptly ran the battery down again.

Is there a way to drive Prius in the mountains without need for stopping every 10 miles?

Thanks
No.. you don't have to do that. The battery meter (State of Charge - SOC) only shows 20% to 80% of the battery's SOC. So, even when there is NO BARS left, the battery has about 20% left. The computer will never let it go below that so don't get obsessive about trying to baby the battery - the computer will do that for you. Just drive!!! :roll:

·
Premium Member
2,820 Posts
you would only need to pull over to "charge" the hybrid battery on such an uphill climb if you found that you didn't have enough power for your liking using the gasoline engine by itself.