Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, not normally a poster, feel a kind of duty to post here, and hope to learn also. Just purchased a 2013 Prius 3. You should be aware that dealer does not check alignment. Took prius to shop I trust--front and back needed alignment. Shop aligned front okay, but rear axle has to be shimmed, so that requires another appointment because of the time involved. Called Toyota salesman--he said that his organization had never had alignment issues, although new tires wore a little fast because of soft rubber.

Second heads up, and so glad Prius has a spare tire, even if it is just a temporary one. On way home from shop, hit small object in road, probably metal, looked but never found it. Result of striking object was immediate flat with 1/2" hole in side wall at thread edge. Not fun, but a can of goop instead of a spare tire would have left us stranded. So, Toyota: D grade for alignment, B- for spare.
Hope this helps someone.

·
Registered
884 Posts
Congratulations on your purchase and welcome to the forums.

Had a problem with a new Chevy we bought years ago. Dealer told us they don't warrant alignment, because I could hit the curb driving out of the new car lot. So, had to pay out of pocket after about 5,000 miles when I noticed tires wearing funny.

Too bad about your experience, though. I have since purchased three new Toyotas and never had alignment problems. Recently, installed new struts on our 2002 Prius (135,000 miles); and had a four-wheel alignment done. However, this was due to strut replacement, not poor tire wear.

We used to run Michelin HydroEdges, and they lasted 65-75,000 miles with very even wear. However, they quit making that tire in a size that will fit our 14-inch wheels.