Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this forum. I test drove an 04 Prius and was so impressed that I am seriously considering purchasing one. However, after some careful thought, I had a serious question regarding the health of Prius owners (after several years or long term effects). What I am about to ask is, and I don't mean to offend any Prius owners, is, "can the Prius generate harmful electromagnetic radiation over time"? As an engineer, I know that electromagnetic energy is generated when either you have a powerful electric transmission or magnetic waves are generated. The Prius, from what I understand, has a HIGH voltage motor (the new 04 has now even more than the old one). Because the motor and engine are both located physically close to the person (say within 3-4 feet) of the firewall, and there is no "lead" protection walls that I know of in the vehicle, can this proximity be a hazard in the long term? I don't know if tests where done, but, I am wondering if this could be a health hazard. I am posting this one also in the technical to see if there is anyone who could answer this question. Thanks alot!

·
Registered
884 Posts
Electromagnetic Fields

I don't know if this helps at all, but a regular compass is useless inside the car. You have to move 30-40 feet away for a compass to read correctly.

This probably gives no indication of the strength of the magnetic field, since a compass is easily affected by flux lines; but your question is interesting and I await an educated response.

Thanks...

·
Registered
131 Posts
Yeah, the electric motor/generators also emit ozone, so be sure to wear your O3-neutralizing masks and by the way, never ride the subways, trolleys, or Amtrak between WashDC and Boston because those electric locos are death-on-wheels!

I live near a very high voltage (?22K AC) overhead power line so my statements reflect fried brain thanks to PP&L.