Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Knock on wood (umm, formica? plastic? padded dash?), but I just bought 4 new tires for my '02 Prius. The original tires had 30K miles on them and the wear bars were showing, so it was time. I decided I wouldn't replace them with the same expensive, fast-wearing tires, so I began a search for appropriate alternative tires.

I studied the "alternate tire" info in the Prius User Guide from the http://john1701a.com website, and various tire mfr.'s websites, and then started calling local tire dealers (Berkeley, CA area.)

I discovered that tire buying involves a bewildering array of choices. Heck, I thought computer and video technology was confusing!

I decided to do "one stop shopping" with a local dealer, so if there problems I could deal with someone nearby. I was hoping to get the Nokian NRT2 "low rolling resistance" tires mentioned on John's site, but unfortunately their distributor in northern CA told me there's a 12 week backorder. I don't ever shop at WalMart, so the Goodyear Allegra they sell was not an option for me. I spoke with several dealers in the area, most of whom were not helpful or didn't stock tires appropriate for the Prius.

After much discussion with a dealer from whom I've purchased 3 sets of tires for other vehicles, we decided that the Kumho model #716 tires would be a good match for the Prius. Although I didn't find a Consumer Reports test on this exact model, CR has give other Kumho tires high marks.

The size I installed is P195/60R14. They are wider than the original tires, but the tire diameter is within a couple of tenths of an inch compared to the originals. They fit very well, with plenty of clearance in the wheel wells and around the struts, etc.