Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
How many miles did it stay on 7 squares and what's the MPG readout on the display, and by staying on 7 squares do you mean 7 squares are lit?

It is not uncommon for a square to remain for up to 75 miles, especially if on full, where it could be as high as 230.

·
Premium Member
2,815 Posts
how many miles has it been stuck at 7 bars? The gage is not very linear, and it is not uncommon that it may stay at a bar level for a while, and then suddenly drop 2 bars relatively quickly, depending on your driving style and terrain.

did you recently refuel with less than 3 gallons of fuel? The gage will not change with such a small refill amount.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
gas gauge

First thanks for replying so fast.
I have filled it up 3 times since it got stuck.
I am not a novice to the quirks of the car, I have had it almost 20 months (and I would buy another in a heartbeat) .
I will try the 300 mile fillup
Thanks for your help.
By the way I adverage 45 mph winter , 50 mph summer, 25,000 milesThanks again

·
Registered
457 Posts
"My gas gauge has stopped functioning."
Have you had the factory "fix" done on your gas guage..? Some 04's had a service bulletin on the guage.. The problem was not for sticking in one spot but (If Needed) you might get the dealer involved in your problem that way..

·
Registered
209 Posts
gas gauge "fix"