Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, according to Toyota, the just-passed energy bill means that the purchaser of a Prius in 2006 will qualify for a $2,400 tax CREDIT. By using the current $2,000 deduction you don't pay taxes on $2,000 which saves about $600, if you are in the 30% tax bracket. Further, if the Alternative Minimum Tax hits you, deductions are worthless anyhow. However, the credit knocks $2,400 right off the top of your tax bill.

So, (here's the complicated part), what do I do? I ordered a Prius 10 weeks ago and am told it will be here in 2-3 weeks. If I honor my promise to buy it now I lose $1,800 (difference between the $2.4K credit and $600 savings due to the $2000 deduction). If I walk away from the deal I forfeit my $500 deposit (I am an attorney and have carefully scrutinized the contract as well as Ohio's Consumer Protection laws). I also pay any increase in the price of the '06 Prius. Still, I should be about $1,000 ahead.

Is there an in-between position? Can I ask the dealer to hold the '05 and purchase it on 1/2/06?. Can I lease it now and then buy it 1/2/06 (or will it be a used car and not qualify for the credit)? Are there other options? Ideas? I am happy to put the full purchase price into a dealer escrow now as a measure of my good-faith intention to buy on 1/2/06.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am honoring the contract by paying the $500 penalty it provides for in event of cancellation. If it did not have that escape clause, which Toyota added, not me, I would be stuck and would abide by its terms.

·
Registered
7,161 Posts