Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the form and would like to know what are the best driving styles /methods to most efficiently reap the benefits of the hybrid technology and get high mpg's.

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
David Duchesne said:
I am new to the form and would like to know what are the best driving styles /methods to most efficiently reap the benefits of the hybrid technology and get high mpg's.
As so often is necessary, we need more information from you. You said you're new to the forum, but how long have you had your Prius? What kind of commute do you have and what's your current mileage for that commute?

How much time are you willing to sacrifice and is it even realistic to adjust your driving style enough to make a significant difference in your mileage?

Read the following:
http://priuschat.com/forums/kb.php?mode ... bf8ad20705

Then answer my questions above, and add any others that came up while reading my article. THEN I can tell you exactly what you can do for your life/style to get better mileage. If you've read through the recent posts you'll see that with time, energy, concentration and the right speed and route you can get up to 120mpg in your Prius...realistically that isn't going to happen as those were some fairly tightly controlled circumstances and real life isn't like that. Still, 50mpg should be a very realistic lifetime goal for all Prius owners.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
re:high mileage techniques

i have just put my down-payment on a package 1 prius and should have it in a week.

I test drove a prius and found it difficult to initially understand the display panel and its arrows indicatibd energy flow.

I live in Canada. The winter months are cold. I wonder if an electric block heater would be useful in early morning warm ups- or just let the car warm up 5 minutes before pulling down the drivway, as I cannot garage the car.