Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone explain to a female newbie (2 1/2 months) Prius owner what the bar graph with the car symbols mean? I've read the manual but I'm not a techie type and I have no clue what they're talking about. :oops: Thanks.

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
janets98 said:
Can someone explain to a female newbie (2 1/2 months) Prius owner what the bar graph with the car symbols mean? I've read the manual but I'm not a techie type and I have no clue what they're talking about. :oops: Thanks.
2.5 months to ask...and they say men will never ask for direction(s)!

It's OK, it's kind of an odd graph. Every 5 minutes a bar pops up. The bar shows your average mpg for that 5 minute time period. That can be pretty useful when you're traveling at a set speed. It can also be pretty confusing and meaningless if you're in stop and go traffic. For instance, if you drive 100 yards during a given 5 minute period then stop completely that 5 minute bar may show an abysmal mpg...maybe 10-15mpg b/c the amount of fuel used vs the distance traveled, divided by the amount of time will be low.

But if you continue to sit, not moving at all, for the next 9 minutes, your second bar will show 100mpg, even though you haven't moved an inch!

The real value of the bars is to show you how you're performing over a given period of time during a given trip. Lots of high bars with few regen car-leafs is good. Lots of low bars with lots of car-leafs is bad.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, efusco. I know. I'm so bad not to have sought help before. :oops:

I can easily follow your explanation of the mpg in 5 minute increments but what the *&$# are "regen car-leafs"? :? And what do I do with them? :?

·
Registered
1,233 Posts