Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Twice now (and 2 dif. car wash services) I've taken my Prius in - asked the person I handed my car over to if they were familiar with this type of car - explained that I have the smart entry and they don't need the key - I left the fob in the cup holder - and TWICE they had no idea what they were doing - this morning was the second time - i was the only one at the car wash (it was a foggy, drizzely day in beautiful Santa Cruz) and i waited and waited and waited and started wondering...where the heck is my car - well - it was stuck inside the car wash and the guys couldn't figure out how to drive it forward - when they completed the wipe down, I got in the car and found my key fob (the whole thing) stuck in the key slot - I've never used the ignition before, but I thought you were supposed to take the little key out of the holder? Egads - Never again - from now on, I'll have to go the self serve wash - some of these guys are such dopes!

Sorry - had to vent and y'all are the only ones that could possibly understand - I feel better now! Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
The little key is designed to remain inside the fob at all times.

But the question at hand is much bigger. The valet cards are nice, but you have to assume that the user would be able and willing to read and follow directions. Unfortunately, not many people do either very well these days.

I don't let anybody valet my car.

I explain it to them that it has a special start procedure. I could just as easily say that it was keyed to my personal fingerprint or retina scan, and they would never know!

·
Registered
130 Posts
LOL, I had a little fun....

A few months back I had to have my tire checked, as I thought there was a screw in it. I explained to the nice gentleman that when it was my turn to call me, as my car had a "special" way of starting it.