Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After waiting for over a year now for the right color and package to come in, I decided to check out Toyota's Scion line of vehicles. I liked the xB a lot. Then I got a letter from Toyota telling me that I could take off $700 if I bought another Toyota vehicle instead of the Prius. Their way of saying 'thanks for waiting', I guess. Unfortunately, even though my Scion would be registered as a Toyota vehicle by my DMV and my insurance company, they won't apply the credit to any Scion or Lexus. This is not stated in the letter anywhere. I can understand the Lexus part in that they are sold through separate dealerships, but the Scion is under the same roof as Toyota. Even their VINs start with the Toyota letter. I called the Toyota Customer Experience line (nice euphamism), and my experience wasn't very rewarding. Good thing I'm not a lawyer. Anyone else in this scenario? I'd really like to buy the xB, and the $700 can buy a bunch of options for it.

·
Registered
455 Posts
If it says Toyota, I would say you are limited to a Toyota, not Toyota Manufacturing Company product.

It is a gift, if you don't want to abide by their rules, then don't use it. They didn't have to send it to you. And now you are busting their balls about it? And talking about suing. Next time they won't offer anything.

Spike

·
Registered
248 Posts
Have you considered going out of state? I did quite well with that strategy. Unless you are a avid fly fisher person or hunter I will not suggest the dealer I worked with. If you are then let me know I will set you up with the trip of your life and a rather long drive home.

·
Registered
623 Posts