Toyota Prius Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just placed an order for a Silver BI. I can't wait. I've learned a lot from this forum. The issue with the 3.9 quarts of oil was especially interesting.

I've seen several posts saying that if you want an extended warranty you shouldn't buy it from the dealer, but from another source ( I forget the company).

Given that the drivetrain warranty is eight years and 100,000 miles, I was wondering if an extended warranty is necessary at all. I appreciate your comments. :D

·
Registered
2,243 Posts
I didn't buy one for my ‘04. I'm not a proponent for extended warrantees on any item. Check Consumers Report for their advice about extended warrantees. ...just my personal opinion.

G

·
RoboChemE said:
wondering if an extended warranty is necessary at all. I appreciate your comments. :D
In a word, no.

Before considering the price of an extended warantee, subtract from each such product you are offered the Toyota warantee you get free with the car. Often you'll find that what you're paying $995 for only extends the manufacturer's policy by a couple of years or a few thousand miles. They don't market them that way, of course, rather they'll give you chapter and verse on the full length of the extended warantee. Consider, too, how you drive. My sister and brother-in-law were offered an extender that, considering how few miles they log per year, would cost them near $1000 and only give them one more year's coverage before it would expire.

Ultimately you'll need to decide if the little extension is worth the price. Count on a significant extension of the manufacturer's warantee to cost you a ton.