Toyota Prius Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought this 2007 Prius, my first Hybrid ever, because it was in my price range after my Saturn totaled last year on black ice, and I wanted a Toyota. I still want a Toyota. The dealer said the car was fine even with 137,000 miles on it, but a private mechanic (friend's reccomendation to go to Mechanic 1 whom I'll call M1) said there was a head gasket leak, which I could probably drive for a year or so before needing to repair. So when M1 said the gasket would run me about $2,000 plus labor, and I told the dealer, the dealer lowered the car price by $500 and I bought this (my Prius) from the dealer at just under $8,000. Later I found out the old owner had put a "bra" over the front to conceal some cosmetic but deep dings.

So now a year has gone by. I see no coolant leaks, no loss of power, no white smoke, but I am a total novice in the car field (I'm front line nursing.) COVID is a problem, meaning I have to make my savings (not much there) to cover our family until the country gets vaccinated. Basically, I have to be very careful with resources, or we join the tent people prematurely.
I called M1 and he said: if money was a concern, he could get a LESS used head gasket than the leaking one in my car from a scrapped younger car,
and put that in instead of a new head gasket, and that would mean instead of 5 days to repair the 'leaking head gasket' he'd found on my "to buy or not" inspection last year, then would only take 3-4 days, and the cost of the whole thing would be $3,500. The mechanic also said if I was trying to put off the repair in favor of paying rent for my family, he could take a look at it and see if it would be safe to delay several months.

Here's my question: I didn't feel right about the way M1 was talking. So I got a recommendation on a "great one man shop mechanic" - I'll call him M2.
M2 said "You NEVER reuse any gasket" and