Toyota Prius Forum : Prius Online Toyota Forums

Toyota Prius Forum : Prius Online Toyota Forums (https://www.priusonline.com/forum.php)
-   Toyota Prius Reviews (https://www.priusonline.com/114-toyota-prius-reviews/)
-   -   Prius performance in mountain driving (https://www.priusonline.com/114-toyota-prius-reviews/14322-prius-performance-mountain-driving.html)

dw_brooks 07-29-2005 11:27 PM

Prius performance in mountain driving
 
Does anyone have any experience they can share with Prius's performance while driving in the mountains. I am wondering about Colorado Rockies type mountains with long grades, and high passes at up to over 10,000 ft.

mrv 07-29-2005 11:42 PM

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/toy ... 010253404/




Logan01 07-30-2005 07:09 PM

You shouldn't have any problems. Modern computer-controlled fuel injected engines don't have the problems older cars used to have. Of course electric motors don't care what the altitude is. I recently took mine across Southern Pennsylvania, through the Allegheny mountains (OK, hills), low mileage going up and fantastic mileage coming down. Averaged about 46 mpg on that leg of the trip.

tomandbecky 07-30-2005 07:14 PM

We live in the mountains in New Mexico. Elevation at our house is 7200 ft., and we routinely change grade of 1000 ft or so, sometimes more. Have noticed no ill effects, and mileage is around 47 mpg. Car is suprisingly peppy when you put your foot in it.

Tom

Victor 08-01-2005 01:51 AM

Ive driven in the high alps on roads well over 2700mtrs (about 9000 feet). The car performed very well, even if the battery was fully discharged at the end.

Cully 08-01-2005 11:57 AM

We recently took a weekend trip from Denver to Steamboat and back and had no problems. Going up the big hills, the battery will get very low and the engine will rev high but it maintains the speed just fine. Of course going down hill, all that is forgotten as you watch the 99MPG bars fill the screen. Used B mode a little bit to avoid too much braking. I filled the tank right before we left Steamboat. At the top of Rabbit Ears we were in the mid 20's for MPG, by the time we got to Winter Park we were in the mid 40's and when we got back to Highlands Ranch we were at 52. :)

Cully 08-01-2005 11:59 AM

We recently took a weekend trip from Denver to Steamboat and back and had no problems. Going up the big hills, the battery will get very low and the engine will rev high but it maintains the speed just fine. Of course going down hill, all that is forgotten as you watch the 99MPG bars fill the screen. Used B mode a little bit to avoid too much braking. I filled the tank right before we left Steamboat. At the top of Rabbit Ears we were in the mid 20's for MPG, by the time we got to Winter Park we were in the mid 40's and when we got back to Highlands Ranch we were at 52. :)

Thomme 08-01-2005 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cully
Going up the big hills, the battery will get very low and the engine will rev high but it maintains the speed just fine.

Ditto in my experience in the mountains between LA and Las Vegas. When the battery gets low going up long grades, the ICE howls like an angry terrier, but once you get used to the fact that it's normal operation under the circumstances, it's all good.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.